Skip to content

“At least you were wearing a bra… Joe.”

May 2, 2009

bras

Time for another “Say What?!?” moment.  I just finished directing my first show ever.  The Drama Club did a comedy revue, which was just a variety of comedy skits, most of which were written by the students or me.  In one particular scene a boy is sent on an undercover mission.  His boss doesn’t have time to explain, and the entire cast runs on stage and surrounds him.  It is clear they are transforming him somehow while the “Mission: Impossible” theme song plays.  After about 25 seconds a record scratch sound is heard, the music stops, the cast parts, and the boy is standing there in a dress.

(Middle school kids think boys in dresses are funny.)

Anyway, we performed it last night and all was going well.  Then the record scratched.  The cast parted.  And there was Joe…

in his boxer shorts…

with his pants around his ankles…

wearing a bra.

I thought I was going to be fired.  Apparently the girl who was in charge of putting the dress on him realized (after putting it over his head) that it was in-side-out.  She took it off to fix it and ran out of music.  Oops.  Amateur mistake.

After the show, a red-faced Joe came up to me and said, “Ms. Alexander, I was on stage in front of the whole school without my shirt on.”

My response: “At least you were wearing a bra!”

(I don’t think that made him feel any better.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 11:33 am

    After years as a middle school teacher, I can tell you this is funny:). And the students learned a valuable lesson about being prepared for…anything! You’re still working, aren’t you?:)

    • msdramaqueen permalink*
      May 4, 2009 2:56 pm

      Yes, I do still have a job (thank goodness)!! 🙂

  2. Holly permalink
    May 4, 2009 8:28 pm

    AHHH!!! Ha!!! Ha!!!! Ha!!!! Ha!!!!! Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!!!

Leave a Reply

