Skip to content

Grandma Shoes

September 13, 2009

grandma shoesI consider myself pretty fashionable.  I am especially savvy in the shoe department.  I pride myself on it.  But this week my dreams of being the teacher all the girls looked to for fashion advice came crashing down on me.

It was first thing in the morning, and my first period kids were filtering into my classroom.  Jessica, one of my “theatre is my LIFE” students, walked up to me and very dramatically said, “Ms. Alexander, I think I am going to DIE.”  I said, “Why?” and she told me this little story of how her grandma drove her to school that morning, and when they pulled up to the front of the school she noticed her granddaughter was wearing flip-flops.  Since flip-flops are not allowed in school her grandma gave her some of her own shoes to wear that she had in the car.

“Ms. Alexander…. LOOK.”  She pointed down to her feet and my eyes followed her.  They were the most hideous pair of old lady tennis shoes I had ever seen in my life.  I felt for the girl, I really did.  I had actually brought some tennis shoes to school with me that day so I could change before the football game that evening, so I offered to loan her mine for the day.  She said, “OMG, YES!” and we walked over to my desk.  I pulled them out and she stopped, looked at them, looked up at me with a blank expression, and after what seemed like the longest pause ever, said….

“Ms. Alexander, those are like the same!”

I gasped in horror and she tried to save herself but I just said, “Get out!  There’s no turning back from that!”  We had a good laugh over it, but now I’ll never look at those tennis shoes the same way again.  It’s time to go shopping.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 17, 2011 5:49 pm

    To funny

Leave a Reply

