Skip to content

A Ray of Sunshine Through the Clouds

May 12, 2010

I have had a rough couple of days.  Well, I have had a rough year.  But the last couple of days I have had to deal with irrational parents who are accusing me of things my heart is not capable of.  At times like this I can’t help but think to myself, “I just can’t do this anymore.”  And then, thankfully, a little ray of sunshine comes through the clouds and doesn’t let me give up.  Today I got a much needed ray of sunshine.

We were not supposed to have a Drama Club meeting after school today because of a staff meeting, but then my meeting got canceled and I told the kids, “You can come if you want to, but if you have something else to do you won’t be marked absent.”  All but one of my Drama Club students showed up.  I could not believe it.  So we did improv, per their request, and I spent the next 45 minutes laughing hysterically at them being goofballs on stage, and sharing inside jokes from our UIL competition adventures together.  Then it came time to go and they didn’t want to leave.  I literally had students begging me to let them do more improvs, so we stayed another 15 minutes until I had to kick them out so I could get some things done before heading home.

As they walked out the door in hysterical laughter I noticed that the fun I was witnessing was not between the kids, but between the kids and me. They included me in their fun, in their jokes, in their laughter.  They didn’t have to.  I make a positive difference in their lives.  Forget about that child’s parents who can’t accept their daughter could do anything wrong.  That girl can come into my class and pout and call me names behind my back all she wants to for the next 16 days of school (16 DAYS!!!!).  Why should I let one child and her irrational parents determine my future as a teacher?

How is it that one dark cloud can overshadow every other wonderful moment you have as a teacher?  I have to remind myself to bottle those rays of sunshine, so when the clouds come through I can just let them pass and get to the sunshine again.

Photo courtesy of vibroacoustic.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2011 8:51 pm

    I just found this post, and want to say taht what happened to you should happen to every one. There is joy in the sadness and confusion…I’m glad you found it. Keep looking.

  2. June 25, 2012 8:55 pm

    enjoyed the read. I was looking for a picture of a ray of sun and ran across this. Though my cirmumstances are way different, it was uplifting.

Leave a Reply

